Duke University Medical Center – Division of Urology

Title Duke University Medical Center – Division of Urology
Categories Fellowships
Location Durham, NC
Job Information

Description of Training

Fellowship Program in Endourology, Metabolic Stone Disease, Laparoscopic and Robotic Surgery at Duke University Medical Center begins on August 15 each year.  Michael Ferrandino, MD, heads the laparoscopic and robotic surgery program, while Glenn M. Preminger, MD, Mike E. Lipkin, MD and Charles D. Scales, MD oversee the endourology and stone disease program.  Currently, the Fellowship Program is designed to explore both the medical and surgical aspects of nephrolithiasis and to investigate techniques which will facilitate minimally invasive surgery and robotics.  The Fellowship is structured as a TWO YEAR PROGRAM that will allow the Fellow to become proficient in clinical practice, basic and clinical research, and administrative capabilities.  We may consider applicants for a ONE YEAR PROGRAM that focuses solely on stone disease.

Fellowship applicants must have core knowledge, skills and understanding of the basic medical sciences relevant to urinary tract stones, obstructive uropathy and other conditions that can be managed with endourologic techniques.

The Fellowship will encompass a combination of clinical (75%) and laboratory (25%) training, with research opportunities in the bioeffects of shock wave lithotripsy and intracorporeal lithotripsy, shock wave and laser physics, advanced imaging technologies, development of novel endourologic devices, robotic surgical techniques, innovative management of BPH, medical management of nephrolithiasis, and health services/outcomes research as it pertains to stone disease and endourology.

Duration of Training
During the Fellowship, one would work closely with Drs. Ferrandino, Lipkin, Scales and Preminger concentrating on basic and clinical investigations in managing nephrolithiasis.  In addition, the Fellow will participate in the Endourologic training program including basic endourology (percutaneous and ureteroscopic techniques) as well as basic and advanced laparoscopic and robotic procedures. There will be specific emphasis on techniques that would further enhance minimally invasive surgery, such as robotic partial nephrectomy and reconstructive renal surgery.  There is also opportunity for training in the innovative management of BPH including laser prostatectomy with Drs. Ferrandino and Sam Eaton, MD, the latter of whom focuses on thulium laser enucleation of the prostate (ThuLEP).

Laboratory Facilities and Research Supervision
Full research facilities are available, including basic science bench-space for SWL and intracorporeal lithotripsy bioeffects studies, the Duke Lithotripsy Laboratory in the Department of Engineering and two dedicated research lithotripters for animal studies. The vivarium with full veterinary support is located immediately adjacent to the Medical Center and Department of Engineering.

All basic science research activities of the Fellowship will be performed at the Comprehensive Kidney Stone Center at Duke University Medical Center (DUMC). All animal projects will be performed at the DUMC Vivarium, a certified facility. The DUMC Vivarium veterinarians and technical-support staff will provide technical assistance.

NIH funding is currently in place to cover the costs of performing these studies. Pei Zhong, Ph.D., will act as the immediate supervisor for performance of the basic physics studies and intracorporeal lithotripsy research. High-speed photographic analysis, acoustic emission equipment and a cavitation detection system will all be available to perform such physics studies.

Health services research activities occur at the Duke Clinical Research Institute (DCRI).  The DCRI houses several large administrative datasets that provide insights into quality of care.

Clinical Responsibilities
The Fellow will be responsible for making daily rounds with the endourology resident at Duke University Medical Center. The Fellow will see patients in the outpatient clinic and participate in endoscopic, laparoscopic and robotic surgery.

Call Responsibilities
The Fellow will be employed as a junior faculty member and will be responsible for 2 weeks of faculty call per year.

Clinical

Procedures Volume Year
Percutaneous procedures 150
Ureteroscopic procedures 250
Shock wave lithotripsy 30
Laparoscopic procedures 125
Robotic procedures 175

Past Fellows

Fellow Year Completed Program Email
Assim Durrani 1995
Chu Teh 1996
Todd Cohen 1997
Peter Aslan 1998 aslan@maxi.net.au
Fernando Delvecchio* 1999 Fernando.Coste-Delvecchio@va.gov*
John Kourambas 2000 jkandkw@bigpond.net.au
Brian Auge** 2001 Brian.Auge@med.navy.mil
Paul Pietrow 2002 pietrow4@yahoo.com
Yeh Hong Tan* 2003 tan.yeh.hong@sgh.com.sg*
James L’Esperance* 2004 James.Lesperance@med.navy.mil*
W. Patrick Springhart* 2005 pspringhart@regionalurology.com*
Roger Sur* 2006 rlsur@mail.ucsd.edu*
George Haleblian 2007 ghaleblian@lifespan.org*
Sean Pierre 2008 spierre@hotmail.com
Michael Ferrandino* 2009 michael.ferrandino@duke.edu*
Dorit Zilberman 2010 dorit.zilberman@gmail.com*
Michael Lipkin* 2011 michael.lipkin@duke.edu*
Agnes Wang 2012 agnes.jye.wang@gmail.com
Muhammad Iqbal 2013 waqasiqbal72@yahoo.com
Ramy Yaacoub* 2014 ryaacoub@uci.edu*
Fernando Cabrera 2015 cabrerapiquer@gmail.com
Joanne Dale 2016 joannelundgren@gmail.com
Adam Kaplan 2016 adamkaplanmd@gmail.com
Daniel Wollin To complete 2018 daniel.wollin@gmail.com

*In Academic Urology

**AFUD Scholar

Contact Name Michael Ferrandino, M.D.
Contact Email
Website https://surgery.duke.edu/education-and-training/fellowship-programs/endourology-metabolic-stone-disease-laparscopic-and-robotic-surgery
Region North America
Job Address
Duke University Medical Center – Division of Urology
DUMC Box 3167
Room 1572D White Zone Duke South
Durham, NC 27710 
Country US
Phone 919-681-5506
Fax 919-681-5507