University of Texas Southwestern- Department Of Urology

Title University of Texas Southwestern- Department Of Urology
Categories Fellowships
Location Dallas, TX
Job Information

The UTSW Minimally Invasive Urology Section offers prospective candidates either a one-year Certificate of Advanced Clinical Training or two-year Fellowship program. The distribution of the one-year program is 80% clinical and 20% research. The 2-year fellowship program is equally divided between clinical training and research. Each year includes both clinical responsibilities and research time, with graded independent clinical responsibility. Laboratory research efforts focus on minimally invasive surgery, robotics, endourology and stone disease and include opportunities for basic research, animal studies, clinical trials, prospective and retrospective clinical research and metabolic studies.


Active laboratory research programs focus on the development of new robotic and laparoscopic surgical techniques and the evaluation of new technologies (LESS). Surgical education and evaluation as it pertains to laparoscopy and endourology is also a research focus. Currently, the section is actively collaborating with engineering groups from the Metroplex on the development of new surgical technologies. Bench space and laboratory facilities include approximately 160 linear ft, of bench space, 200 sq. ft. of office space and a 600 sq. ft. animal surgery suite. Additionally, there is a Minimally Invasive Surgery Simulation laboratory containing pelvic trainers, a percutaneous renal access / ureteroscopy virtual reality simulator, a laparoscopy virtual reality simulator and Robotic VR simulators. There are two Ph.Ds. in the Urology Department who are available to assist with basic research projects. In addition, the resources of the Mineral Metabolism Center and Clinic Research Unit are available for metabolic stone projects. A full-time endourology laboratory technician is employed to facilitate resident and fellow research.


Percutanous procedures 200/yr
Ureteroscopic procedures 250/yr
SWLs 20/yr
Laparoscopic procedures 50/yr
Robotic procedures 300/yr


2000-2001 Matthew Gettman, MD Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
2001-2002 Kenneth Ogan, MD Emery University/Atlanta, GA
2002-2003 Devin Brooke Johnson, MD Western Wisconsin Urology, Eau Claire, WI
2003-2004 Edward Matsumoto, MD McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2004-2005 James Kyle Anderson, MD University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
2005-2006 Sangtae Park, MD Northshore Medical Group, Glenview, IL
2006-2007 Ilia Zeltser, MD Bryn Mawr Urology Group, Pryn Mawr, PA
2007-2008 Jay Raman, MD Penn State University, Hershey, PA
2008-2009 Chad Tracy, M.D. University of Iowa, Iowa City, IH
2009-2011 Sara Best, MD University of Wisconsin/Madison, WI
2010-2012 Ephrem Olweny, MD Robert Wood Johnson, New Brunswick, NJ
2011-2012 Stephen Faddegon, MD* Kamloops, BC, Canada
2012-2013 Jeffrey Gahan, MD UT Southwestern, Dallas, TX
2012-2013 Jodi Antonelli, MD UT Southwestern, Dallas, TX
2013-2014 Justin Friedlander, MD Einstein Healthcare Network, Philadelphia, PA
2013-2015 Monica Morgan, MD UT Southwestern, Dallas, TX
2014-2016 Aaron Lay, MD Emory University, Atlanta, GA
2015-2017 Noah Canvasser, MD University of Michigan, An Arbor, MI
2016-2018 Igor Sorokin, MD Albany Medical College, Albany, NY
2017-2019 Brett Johnson, MD University of Wisconsin/Madison, WI
Contact Name Margaret Sue Pearle, M.D.; Jeffrey A. Caddedu, M.D.
Contact Email
Website UTSW Urology
Region North America
Job Address

University of Texas Southwestern
Department Of Urology
5323 Harry Hines Blvd.
Dallas, TX 75390-9110

Country US
Phone 214-648-6853
Fax 214-648-8786