Surgeon: Arthur Smith

Moderators: Evangelos Liatsikos, Ben Chew and Necole Streeper

Arthur D. Smith, M.D. graduated from the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa. He completed a residency in General Surgery followed by a residency in Urology. In 1977 he immigrated to the United States and worked in the Department of Urology at the University of Minnesota. While working there he and Ralph Clayman developed the concept of Endourology.

In 1982 he accepted the position of Chairman of Urology at the Long Island Medical Centre. Shortly thereafter he founded the Endourology Society in 1983 and was the President for the first 25 years. He is often referred to as the "father of Endourology". Together with Dr. Ralph Clayman he started the Journal of Endourology and they continue to be the present editors.

Dr. Smith has published nearly 500 papers and chapters, produced over 100 medical movies and lectured and operated at many institutions around the world. This has resulted in many awards including an honorary doctorate from the University of Athens, honorary membership of the British Urology Society, Peruvian, Dutch, South African, the United Arab Emirates and other societies. His textbook "Smith's textbook of Endourology" is recognized internationally as the major text on the subject. He is the founding President of Videourology and this organization has had annual meetings which he has arranged for over 25 years.

Clinically he has been recognized in Best Doctors in New York and Best Doctors in the United States for many years.

Recently Dr. Smith gave up the administrative position of Chairman of the Department of Urology at Long Island Jewish Medical Center but remains in active clinical practice at the Arthur Smith Institute of Urology


Dr. Evangelos Liatsikos is the new elected Chairman of the European School of Urology (ESU). He is a Professor of Urology and the Director of Urology Department at the University Hospital of Patras in Greece. He is a Guest Professor at the University of Leipzig in Germany and Adjunct Professor at the Medical University of Vienna, Austria. He was Chairman of the European Section of Uro-Technology (ESUT) from 2016 to 2020. He is distinguished in literature for his research in Laparoscopy and Endourology, with his work accounting for more than 290 international publications. Dr. Liatsikos has also been invited as a speaker and live surgeon in a series of the most prestigious urological congresses worldwide. For his scientific contribution, Professor Liatsikos was nominated for the “Arthur Smith Endourology Lectureship” award in 2009 by the World Association of Endourology. He received the award of “Academic Endourology Fellowship Program Director” on November 2016 during the World Congress of Urology.


Ben H. Chew, MD, MSc, FRCSC is a urologist and the Director of Clinical Research at the Stone Centre at Vancouver General Hospital and an Associate Professor of Urology at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada.  He is also the Chair of Research for the Endourological Society ( ).  His main interests lie in the treatment and research of the pathophysiology of kidney stone disease. His research focus includes metabolic stone disease as well as biomaterials used in the urinary tract for ureteral stents.  He has worked on various stent designs, stent coatings and drug-eluting ureteral stents to try and improve the quality of life for patients with kidney stone disease. He continues work on a degradable ureteral stent and has completed the first-in-human trials. Current studies include attempting to understand second messenger systems that are activated within the kidney and ureter once a ureteral stent has been placed. These could be exploited as future therapeutic targets for new drug eluting ureteral stents or designs to reduce symptoms. He is a consultant to a robotics company in the race to develop the first robotic assisted ureteroscopy.


Necole Streeper MD, is an Assistant Professor of Surgery in the Division of Urology at the Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center. She completed medical school at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine followed by a residency in Urology at University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She also completed a fellowship in Endourology and Minimally Invasive Surgery at the University of Wisconsin. Dr. Streeper specializes in surgically treating complex kidney stone disease. In addition, she is the director of a multidisciplinary kidney stone prevention clinic that focuses on the prevention of kidney stones through both medical and dietary therapy.

Her clinical research is dedicated to improving the prevention, treatment and detection of kidney stones. Specifically, she has received grant support to develop a wrist worn inertial sensor to improve fluid consumption for the prevention of kidney stones. In addition she is also interested in identifying management strategies to improve the quality of life in patients with kidney stones. Dr. Streeper has authored several research publications and book chapters in the field of kidney stone disease.